web analytics
Home Education


Career Enhancement & Educational Advancement

Stephen Bufton Memorial Educational Fund (SBMEF)

ABWA’S national educational fund is one of the most highly respected grant and scholarships funds in the country. For more than 50 years, SBMEF has helped women achieve business and professional success through education.

One of the most valuable national benefits of membership in the ABWA is the opportunity for members and local ABWA chapters to participate in SBMEF. With such programs available as Business Skills Tuition reimbursement, Outright Grant and national scholarships, the organization has created ways to support educational and professional development for both members and non-members alike.

For more information on National Scholarships, please visit www.abwa.org.

Business Skills Tuition Reimbursement Program

This program provides working women an opportunity to participate in professional development workshops and/or seminars offered by an accredited, licensed or state- approved institution. Non-degree coursework, such as desktop publishing, real estate licensing, ABWA-KU MBA Essentials, Franklin Covey, and any other ABWA district or national conference programming may meet the criteria, if the applicant can demonstrate that the coursework enhances her career.

Outright Grant Program

This program offers grants for tuition, books and fees up to a maximum amount of $1500 to women who are seeking funds to be used at an accredited college or university in the United States at Junior level or above. An ABWA group must sponsor the applicant for an outright grant.

Unlike the SBMEF’s national scholarships, the Business Skills Tuition Reimbursement Program and the Outright Grant Program, each requires that an applicant to be sponsored by a local ABWA group.

For more information, please contact the Chapter President, Belinda Zivich

2015 SBMEF Outright Grant recipient Katie Enloe & Toby Ferrel (2014 - 2015 Neapolitan Chapter President)

2015 SBMEF Outright Grant recipient Katie Enloe & Toby Ferrel (2014 – 2015 Neapolitan Chapter President)